European Darts Matchplay: Former winners Pipe and Van der Voort in first round clash


The European Darts Matchplay begins today, with former European Tour event winners Justin Pipe and Vincent van der Voort set to clash in the first round.

The £135,000 tournament is the year’s ninth European Tour event, as 48 players compete at the Arena in Hamburg across the weekend.

Friday’s first round will feature 32 qualifiers competing, with the field having been finalised following Thursday’s South & West Europe Qualifier and Host Nation Qualifier.

Dutchman Van der Voort headlined the South & West Europe Qualifier, as he progressed to a first round tie against fellow former Austrian Darts Open winner Justin Pipe.

Scottish star Robert Thornton, a European Tour winner in Dusseldorf three years ago, takes on Host Nation Qualifier Rene Eidams.

2018 German Darts Open champion Max Hopp was another of the six Host Nation Qualifiers, as he set up a first round tie with Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode.

Jelle Klaasen will take on Dragutin Horvat, while German World Cup star Martin Schindler comes up against Dutch qualifier Mario Robbe.

Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas meets Belgian youngster Mike De Decker, who sees fellow countryman Ronny Huybrechts now plays Luke Humphries.

Spain’s Cristo Reyes will play Andy Boulton, Maik Langendorf comes up against Michael Barnard and Robert Marijanovic plays Jermaine Wattimena.

Chris Dobey opens up against Jamie Bain, while former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown plays Jason Lowe and 2018 Coral UK Open semi-finalist Rob Owen meets Russia’s Boris Koltsov.

The seeded players, led by world number one Michael van Gerwen, World Champion Rob Cross and last week’s Danish Darts Open winner Mensur Suljovic, enter at the second round stage on Saturday.

From the original field of entries, Peter Wright and Jim Brown have withdrawn, meaning that UK Qualifier James Wilson becomes a seed and that two additional places were available in the Host Nation Qualifier.

The European Darts Matchplay will take place from June 29-July 1, with streaming available for all PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide as well as through a series of bookmakers’ websites.

2018 European Darts Matchplay

Draw Bracket

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Mark Wilson/Ryan Joyce

James Wilson (16) v Robert Thornton/Rene Eidams

Ian White (8) v Dirk van Duijvenbode/Max Hopp

Darren Webster (9) v Luke Humphries/Ronny Huybrechts

Joe Cullen (5) v Martin Schindler/Mario Robbe

Simon Whitlock (12) v Vincent van der Voort/Justin Pipe

Daryl Gurney (4) v Robert Marijanovic/Jermaine Wattimena

Stephen Bunting (13) v Mike De Decker/Darius Labanauskas

Michael Smith (2) v Jelle Klaasen/Dragutin Horvat

Steve Beaton (15) v Cristo Reyes/Andy Boulton

Jonny Clayton (7) v Jason Lowe/Keegan Brown

Gerwyn Price (10) v Maik Langendorf/Michael Barnard

Mensur Suljovic (6) v Robert Owen/Boris Koltsov

Mervyn King (11) v Darren Johnson/Paul Rowley

Rob Cross (3) v William O’Connor/Martin Atkins

Kim Huybrechts (14) v Jamie Bain/Chris Dobey


Schedule of Play

Friday June 29

First Round

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)   

Robert Owen v Boris Koltsov

Jason Lowe v Keegan Brown

Darren Johnson v Paul Rowley

William O’Connor v Martin Atkins

Maik Langendorf v Michael Barnard

Vincent van der Voort v Justin Pipe

Martin Schindler v Mario Robbe

Robert Marijanovic v Jermaine Wattimena


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)

Jamie Bain v Chris Dobey

Robert Thornton v Rene Eidams

Mike De Decker v Darius Labanauskas

Jelle Klaasen v Dragutin Horvat

Mark Wilson v Ryan Joyce

Cristo Reyes v Andy Boulton

Dirk van Duijvenbode v Max Hopp

Luke Humphries v Ronny Huybrechts


Saturday June 30

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Simon Whitlock v Van der Voort/Pipe

Jonny Clayton v Lowe/Brown

Gerwyn Price v Langendorf/Barnard

Mervyn King v Johnson/Rowley

James Wilson v Thornton/Eidams

Joe Cullen v Schindler/Robbe

Kim Huybrechts v Bain/Dobey

Darren Webster v Humphries/R Huybrechts


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)

Steve Beaton v Reyes/Boulton

Ian White v Van Duijvenbode/Hopp

Mensur Suljovic v Owen/Koltsov

Michael van Gerwen v Wilson/Joyce

Daryl Gurney v Marijanovic/Wattimena

Rob Cross v O’Connor/Atkins

Stephen Bunting v De Decker/Labanauskas

Michael Smith v Klaasen/Horvat


Sunday July 1

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Third Round


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)





Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here