Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals – Day Two Round-Up


Rob Cross powered into the last eight of the Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals as he held off Adrian Lewis on Saturday night, as Michael van Gerwen continued his bid to claim a third successive title.

Shooting star Cross won through to his fourth successive TV quarter-final as he followed up his impressive 6-2 second round win on Saturday afternoon with a fine 10-6 defeat of Lewis.

Having landed four ton-plus checkouts against Lennon, Cross took out 156 and 104 as he moved into a 6-1 lead against two-time World Champion Lewis.

The Stoke ace – twice a Players Championship Finals runner-up – produced a superb 170 finish and also checked out 113 as he hit back to trail 8-6, but missed doubles in the next two legs allowed Cross to close out the win.

Cross now faces a quarter-final on Sunday afternoon against James Wade, whose bid to claim a first TV title for three years continued as he came from 3-0 down to defeat Jamie Caven 6-4 and then overcame a 2-0 deficit against Ian White.

Wade won five legs from six to take a 5-3 lead, and though White cut the gap to one it was the left-hander who pulled clear for a 10-6 victory, landing nine 180s in a heavy-scoring display.

Jonny Clayton secured his place in his first TV quarter-final by overcoming Gerwyn Price 6-2 in their all-Welsh tie before edging out Stephen Bunting 10-8 in round three.

Clayton landed a 140 finish as he took an early 3-1 lead, with Bunting taking out 125 before eventually levelling in leg 12, and he led 8-7 before seeing the Welshman claim the next three to prevail.

Clayton will meet Steve Beaton in Sunday afternoon’s quarter-finals, with the former Lakeside Champion seeing off Dutch duo Jelle Klaasen and Jermaine Wattimena to secure his last eight spot.

Beaton had come from 4-3 down to defeat Klaasen 6-4, before seeing Wattimena defy a 158 checkout to come from 9-5 down to force a decider before the 53-year-old finally closed out the win to reach his first Minehead quarter-final.

Reigning champion Michael van Gerwen continued his bid to claim a fourth title in five years in the event by defeating Steve West and Darren Webster on Saturday.

A superb start saw West lead 2-0 before Van Gerwen reeled off six straight legs in an imperious response, before he saw off Webster 10-5 with a 103 average, extending his current unbeaten run to 25 matches.

Van Gerwen is now set for an all-Dutch quarter-final with Jan Dekker, who defeated Simon Whitlock in a deciding leg before defeating debutant Peter Jacques 10-5 to reach the last eight in a PDC event for the first time.

World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney’s bid to win a second TV title saw him overcome Robbie Green 6-4, from 3-1 down, before ousting youngster Chris Dobey 10-5.

Gurney will come up against two-time Minehead semi-finalist Justin Pipe, who went to a deciding leg in both of his Saturday wins as he firstly came from 4-0 down to win 6-5 against Ron Meulenkamp before battling past William O’Connor with a 10-9 success.

Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals

Saturday November 25

Afternoon Session

Second Round

Main Stage

William O’Connor 6-3 Dave Chisnall

Stephen Bunting 6-3 Mensur Suljovic

Daryl Gurney 6-4 Robbie Green

Rob Cross 6-2 Steve Lennon

Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Mickey Mansell

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Steve West

Peter Jacques 6-5 Steve Hine

Stage Two

Darren Webster 6-3 Mervyn King

Chris Dobey 6-5 Robert Thornton

Jonny Clayton 6-2 Gerwyn Price

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Richard North

Justin Pipe 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp

Steve Beaton 6-4 Jelle Klaasen

James Wade 6-4 Jamie Caven

Jan Dekker 6-5 Simon Whitlock

Ian White 6-5 John Henderson

Evening Session

Third Round

Main Stage

Rob Cross 10-6 Adrian Lewis

Steve Beaton 10-9 Jermaine Wattimena

Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Darren Webster

Jan Dekker 10-5 Peter Jacques

Stage Two

Justin Pipe 10-9 William O’Connor

Jonny Clayton 10-8 Stephen Bunting

James Wade 10-6 Ian White

Daryl Gurney 10-5 Chris Dobey

Sunday November 26

Afternoon Session (12.45pm)


Rob Cross v James Wade

Jonny Clayton v Steve Beaton

Daryl Gurney v Justin Pipe

Michael van Gerwen v Jan Dekker

Best of 19 legs

Evening Session (7pm)


Cross/Wade v Clayton/Beaton

Gurney/Pipe v Van Gerwen/Dekker

Best of 21 legs

PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final

Josh Payne v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Best of 11 legs

Mr Green Sport Players Championship Final


Best of 21 legs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here