Van Gerwen hits nine-darter in Hamburg


Michael van Gerwen landed the first nine-dart finish on the PDC European Tour for five years with a stunning perfect leg against Ryan Joyce in Hamburg last night.

Van Gerwen began his bid to win a sixth European Tour event of 2018 with a 6-2 win over qualifier Ryan Joyce, which will go down in history for the Dutchman’s moment of perfection.

The world number one led 2-1 before opening leg four with scores of 180 and 177, and then took out 144 with two treble 20s and double 12 to secure a nine-dart finish.

Van Gerwen later took out 121 as he went on to seal a 6-2 win and a place in today’s final stages on the European Darts Matchplay at the Arena.

The last nine-darter on the European Tour had been achieved five years and a day earlier by Ross Smith in the Gibraltar Darts Trophy, with a host of players – including Van Gerwen – going close to perfection in the intervening years.

“It’s a special moment for me and this crowd,” said Van Gerwen.

“Nine-darters are always fantastic but it’s been a long time on the European Tour – five years is too long!”

A major shock then followed as William O’Connor stunned World Champion Rob Cross with a 6-4 victory.

Cross looked comfortable, averaging just short of 100 as he raced into a 4-2 lead, but the Irishman then rattled off four legs in succession to secure the win.

Daryl Gurney made hard work of his progression to the third round as he recovered from 4-2 down to beat Robert Marijanovic in a last leg decider.

And the drama continued as Stephen Bunting beat Darius Labanauskas in the same fashion.

In the final game of the evening, Jelle Klaasen picked up an excellent win – beating Premier League finalist Michael Smith 6-4 to book a third round clash against Andy Boulton.

Last weekend’s Danish Darts Open winner, Mensur Suljovic, began his bid to claim back-to-back titles with a 6-3 defeat of Russia’s Boris Koltsov.

There was second round disappointment in Hamburg, though, for the other two European Tour winners so far in 2018, Jonny Clayton and Max Hopp, as they exited at the hands of Jason Lowe and Ian White respectively.

Earlier in the day, former Austrian Darts Open winner Justin Pipe overcame last week’s Danish Darts Open finalist Simon Whitlock 6-3, and another previous European Tour winner, Robert Thornton, edged out James Wilson.

Premier League ace Gerwyn Price saw off Host Nation Qualifier Maik Langendorf 6-3, while Joe Cullen won by the same scoreline against German Martin Schindler and Darren Webster overcame Luke Humphries in the same manner.

Paul Rowley reached the third round on the European Tour for the first time with a 6-4 defeat of Mervyn King, while Andy Boulton matched that margin of victory against Steve Beaton.

Kim Huybrechts’ 6-4 win over Chris Dobey means that Alan Norris – who did not qualify to compete in Hamburg – is knocked out of the qualification places for July’s BetVictor World Matchplay.

The European Darts Matchplay will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers, and through a series of bookmakers’ websites worldwide.

Schedule of Play

Saturday June 30

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Justin Pipe 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Jason Lowe 6-5 Jonny Clayton

Gerwyn Price 6-3 Maik Langendorf

Paul Rowley 6-4 Mervyn King

Robert Thornton 6-5 James Wilson

Joe Cullen 6-3 Martin Schindler

Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Chris Dobey

Darren Webster 6-3 Luke Humphries


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)

Andy Boulton 6-4 Steve Beaton

Ian White 6-2 Max Hopp

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Boris Koltsov

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Ryan Joyce – Michael van Gerwen hits nine-dart finish

Daryl Gurney 6-5 Robert Marijanovic

William O’Connor 6-4 Rob Cross

Stephen Bunting 6-5 Darius Labanauskas

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Michael Smith


Sunday July 1

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen v Robert Thornton

Ian White v Darren Webster

Joe Cullen v Justin Pipe

Daryl Gurney v Stephen Bunting

Jelle Klaasen v Andy Boulton

Jason Lowe v Gerwyn Price

Mensur Suljovic v Paul Rowley

William O’Connor v Kim Huybrechts


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here