Chisnall earns England spot for Betway World Cup of Darts


Dave ChisnallL is to make his Betway World Cup of Darts debut for reigning champions England at next month’s tournament in Frankfurt as he partners Adrian Lewis, with Scotland to be the number one seeds for the Pairs tournament.

The £300,000 tournament will be held from June 1-4 at the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt, Germany and broadcast live on Sky Sports as 32 two-player nations compete for the title.

Reigning champions England, who have won the title in four of the past five years, will be represented for a sixth time by Adrian Lewis, who will this year be partnered by world number five Dave Chisnall.

Chisnall recently edged above James Wade on the PDC Order of Merit, and was unbeaten in his final seven games of the Betway Premier League as he narrowly missed out on the Play-Offs.

2015 finalists Scotland will be represented for a second time by Gary Anderson and Peter Wright, who reached the decider two years ago before losing out to England, and the pair – ranked second and third in the world – will be the top seeds.

Two-time winners Netherlands will be the number three seeds as World Champion Michael van Gerwen teams up once again with Raymond van Barneveld to continue the partnership which saw them claim the 2014 title and reach last year’s final.

Welsh pair Gerwyn Price and Mark Webster team up for the second successive year as the number four seeds, with Australia’s Simon Whitlock and Kyle Anderson to be the number five seeds.

Both Northern Ireland – represented by Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan – and Belgium, who see brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts team up, retain the same pairings which reached the 2016 semi-finals, while Austria’s Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez complete the seeded nations.

Brazil will make their World Cup of Darts debuts as Diogo Portela, the London-based player who competes on the PDC circuit, teams up with Alexandre Sattin, who won a qualifier in his homeland to secure a place in the event.

In a change to the original field of nations, Latvia have been withdrawn and will be replaced by debutants Switzerland, for whom Thomas Junghans – a former European Tour qualifier – and Philipp Ruckstuhl will compete.

2016 quarter-finalists Canada will be represented by three-time World Champion John Part and newcomer John Norman Jnr, who has joined the PDC circuit this year.

Long-standing American partnership Darin Young and Larry Butler – the former World Matchplay champion – team up once more, while New Zealand are represented by emerging talent Cody Harris and experienced Rob Szabo.

Emerging youngster Martin Schindler makes his World Cup of Darts debut alongside former World Youth Champion Max Hopp as the hosts unveil a new-look pairing for this year’s tournament.

Spain see Cristo Reyes and Antonio Alcinas in action once again, while Mick McGowan and William O’Connor team up for the Republic of Ireland for a second successive year.

South Africa’s Deon Oliver won a knockout event held in Cape Town earlier this year as he won the right to partner established professional Devon Petersen, while Weihong Li and Yuanjun Liu won through the Chinese qualifier.

Haruki Muramatsu and debutant Yuki Yamada will compete for Japan, while Kai Fan Leung comes in to partner Royden Lam for Hong Kong, with both Singapore and Thailand retaining their pairings from the 2016 event.

Russian qualifiers Boris Koltsov and Aleksandr Oreshkin team up again, while Magnus Caris is again partnered by Daniel Larsson for Sweden, with Kim Viljanen and Marko Kantele in action for Finland and Per Laursen joined by Alex Jensen in the Denmark pairing.

Dyson Parody and Dylan Duo will compete for Gibraltar once more, with John Michael joined by Ioannis Selachoglou in the Greece team and 2017 European Tour ever-present Krzysztof Ratajski joined by Tytus Kanik in the Poland side.

Hungary will see Janos Vegso partnered by Zoltan Mester, with Gabriel Rollo coming into the Italy team alongside Daniele Petri, while Frantisek Humpula and Karel Sedlacek team up for their World Cup debut for the Czech Republic.

The Betway World Cup of Darts draw will be made on Tuesday, with eight nations seeded for the first round of the four-day tournament. The draw will be streamed through Facebook Live at (time TBC).

Tickets for the Betway World Cup of Darts can be purchased through

Betway World Cup of Darts
Competing Nations
Seeded Nations
1 Scotland – Gary Anderson & Peter Wright
2 England – Adrian Lewis & Dave Chisnall
3 Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld
4 Wales – Gerwyn Price & Mark Webster
5 Australia – Simon Whitlock & Kyle Anderson
6 Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
7 Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
8 Belgium – Kim Huybrechts & Ronny Huybrechts

Other Nations
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Alexandre Sattin
Canada – John Norman Jnr & John Part
China – Weihong Li & Yuanjun Liu
Czech Republic – Frantisek Humpula & Karel Sedlacek
Denmark – Per Laursen & Alex Jensen
Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele
Germany – Max Hopp & Martin Schindler
Gibraltar – Dyson Parody & Dylan Duo
Greece – John Michael & Ioannis Selachoglou
Hong Kong – Kai Fan Leung & Royden Lam
Hungary – Janos Vegso & Zoltan Mester
Italy – Daniele Petri & Gabriel Rollo
Japan – Haruki Muramatsu & Yuki Yamada
New Zealand – Cody Harris & Rob Szabo
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Tytus Kanik
Republic of Ireland – Mick McGowan & William O’Connor
Russia – Boris Koltsov & Aleksandr Oreshkin
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Deon Oliver
Spain – Cristo Reyes & Antonio Alcinas
Sweden – Magnus Caris & Daniel Larsson
Switzerland – Patrick Rey & Philipp Ruckstuhl
Thailand – Thanawat Gaweenuntawong & Attapol Eupakaree
United States of America – Darin Young & Larry Butler

Prize Fund
Winners (Per Player) £30,000
Runner-Up (Per Player) £16,000
Semi-Finalists (Per Player) £10,000
Quarter-Finalists (Per Player) £7,000
Second Round Losers (Per Player) £4,000
First Round Losers (Per Player) £1,500
Total £300,000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here