Early Betway World Cup teams announced


A number of nations have confirmed their qualifiers for the 2016 Betway World Cup of Darts, which will take place in Frankfurt from June 2-5.

The 32-nation event will see players compete across four days, live on Sky Sports, with reigning champions England and former winners the Netherlands amongst the countries battling for the title.

While many of the more established nations’ teams will be confirmed in mid-May, a number of countries worldwide have already confirmed their two-player teams in advance of June’s tournament.

Lourence Ilagan and Gilbert Ulang (pictured) won through a qualifying knockout to represent the Philippines, while Scott MacKenzie and Ting Chi Royden Lam (pictured, below) will star for Hong Kong, having reached the quarter-finals in 2015.

Singapore will again be represented by veteran star Paul Lim – the 62-year-old legend who achieved a nine-darter in the 1990 World Championship – and Harith Lim, who is making a third successive World Cup appearance.

New Zealand’s Warren Parry will make his third World Cup appearance alongside newcomer Cody Harris, who qualified for last year’s Sydney Darts Masters and has starred on the domestic circuit in Australia and New Zealand over the past year.

Finland will be represented for a second successive year by Kim Viljanen and Marko Kantele, while Magnus Caris teams up with Daniel Larsson for Sweden once again.

Veteran Danish star Per Laursen will be partnered by a newcomer to the big stage, with 20-year-old Daniel Jensen set to make his televised debut, while Norway’s Robert Wagner will team up with Cor Dekker.

Greece will make their World Cup of Darts debut, with John Michael set to be partnered by Ioannis Selachouglu, while the Czech Republic will be represented by Michal Kocik and Pavel Drtil and Italy’s qualifiers are Daniele Petri and Michel Furlanis.

The remaining nations for the sell-out Betway World Cup of Darts will be announced following the advertised cut-off date of May 23.

Betway World Cup of Darts
New Zealand – Warren Parry & Cody Harris
Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele
Sweden – Magnus Caris & Daniel Larsson
Denmark – Per Laursen & Daniel Jensen
Norway – Robert Wagner & Cor Dekker
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & Gilbert Ulang
Hong Kong – Scott Mackenzie & Ting Chi Royden Lam
Czech Republic – Michal Kocik & Pavel Drtil
Greece – John Michael & Ioannis Selachouglu
Italy – Daniele Petri & Michel Furlanis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here