German Darts Open draw & schedule

Michael van Gerwen will begin his bid to win a third successive 2018 European Tour title on Saturday, with the draw and schedule of play for the German Darts Open now available.


World number one Van Gerwen has claimed victory in both European Tour events held so far this year, defeating Peter Wright in finals in Leverkusen and Munich.


The return to Saarbrucken will see the Dutchman face either Richard North or fellow countryman Danny Noppert when he enters the event in Saturday’s second round.


2017 German Darts Open winner Wright begins his title defence against either German favourite Max Hopp or Austrian qualifier Zoran Lerchbacher.


World Champion Rob Cross could come up against the reigning PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion, Dimitri Van den Bergh, in round two, should the young Belgian defeat William O’Connor on Friday.


James Wade, a two-time semi-finalist so far this year, will headline the first round action on Friday as he takes on Poland’s Tytus Kanik.


Former European Tour winner Robert Thornton plays Steve Lennon, while Paul Nicholson takes on Nathan Aspinall.


Terry Jenkins returns to the European Tour stage against Cameron Menzies, while Simon Stevenson takes on Kirk Shepherd and Matthew Edgar takes on Steve West.


The tournament will also feature first round clash between European Tour debutants Maik Kuivenhoven, from the Netherlands, and German ace Tobias Muller, who both secured their places in Thursday’s final qualifiers.


The German Darts Open will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers at, and through a series of bookmakers’ websites worldwide.


2018 German Darts Open

Tournament Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Richard North/Danny Noppert

Steve Beaton (16) v Dragutin Horvat/Alan Tabern

Dave Chisnall (8) v Jose Justivia/Luke Woodhouse

Ian White (9) v Terry Jenkins/Cameron Menzies

Daryl Gurney (5) v Rene Eidams/Ricky Williams

Mervyn King (12) v James Wade/Tytus Kanik

Michael Smith (4) v Steve Lennon/Robert Thornton

Jelle Klaasen (13) v Maik Kuivenhoven/Tobias Muller

Peter Wright (2) v Zoran Lerchbacher/Max Hoppe

Benito van de Pas (15) v Paul Nicholson/Nathan Aspinall

Joe Cullen (7) v Luke Humphries/Ronny Huybrechts

Simon Whitlock (10) v Jan Dekker/Daniel Larsson

Mensur Suljovic (6) v Keegan Brown/Jermaine Wattimena

Gerwyn Price (11) v Simon Stevenson/Kirk Shepherd

Rob Cross (3) v Dimitri Van den Bergh/William O’Connor

Darren Webster (14) v Matthew Edgar/Steve West


Schedule of Play

Friday April 13

First Round

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm GMT)

Simon Stevenson v Kirk Shepherd

Matthew Edgar v Steve West

Terry Jenkins v Cameron Menzies

Maik Kuivenhoven v Tobias Muller

Jan Dekker v Daniel Larsson

Rene Eidams v Ricky Williams

Richard North v Danny Noppert

Jose Justicia v Luke Woodhouse


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm GMT)

Dragutin Horvat v Alan Tabern

Luke Humphries v Ronny Huybrechts

Steve Lennon v Robert Thornton

Zoran Lerchbacher v Max Hopp

Dimitri Van den Bergh v William O’Connor

Paul Nicholson v Nathan Aspinall

James Wade v Tytus Kanik

Keegan Brown v Jermaine Wattimena


Saturday April 14

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm GMT)

Darren Webster v Edgar/West

Ian White v Jenkins/Menzies

Simon Whitlock v Dekker/Larsson

Gerwyn Price v Stevenson/Shepherd

Jelle Klaasen v Kuivenhoven/Muller

Steve Beaton v Horvat/Tabern

Dave Chisnall v Justicia/Woodhouse

Michael Smith v Lennon/Thornton


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm GMT)

Mervyn King v Wade/Kanik

Daryl Gurney v Eidams/Williams

Benito van de Pas v Nicholson/Aspinall

Michael van Gerwen v North/Noppert

Peter Wright v Lerchbacher/Hopp

Joe Cullen v Humphries/R Huybrechts

Mensur Suljovic v Brown/Wattimena

Rob Cross v Van den Bergh/O’Connor


Sunday April 15

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm GMT)

Third Round


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm GMT)






All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *