World Grand Prix Schedule confirmed

Ten-time  champion Phil Taylor will be in action on the opening night of the World Grand Prix on Monday October 7, with Michael van Gerwen to open the defence of his title on Tuesday October 8 in Dublin.

The £350,000 event will be held at Dublin’s Citywest Hotel from October 7-13, with 32 stars competing for the £100,000 title live on Sky Sports HD.

With the first round split across the opening two nights, World Champion Taylor will headline the eight games on Monday October 7 as he takes on Jamie Caven in their best-of-three set contest.

Two-time champion James Wade, the 2007 and 2010 World Grand Prix winner, will play Steve Beaton, who won last weekend’s German Darts Masters in Sindelfingen, while 2005 Citywest champion Colin Lloyd is up against Ronnie Baxter in the tournament’s opening game.

Wes Newton, a semi-finalist last year, plays Peter Wright and Robert Thornton – who knocked out Taylor on his way to the quarter-finals – meets Paul Nicholson.

Simon Whitlock faces Northern Irish ace Michael Mansell, while Gary Anderson plays Jelle Klaasen before the opening night concludes as Irish qualifier Connie Finnan takes on two-time finalist Terry Jenkins.

Tuesday’s second night of round one action is headlined by reigning champion van Gerwen’s clash with three-time World Champion John Part.

Mervyn King, last year’s runner-up to van Gerwen, opens the night against Wayne Jones, while Justin Pipe faces Andy Smith, Kevin Painter plays Richie Burnett and Dave Chisnall meets Ian White.

Andy Hamilton then plays Kim Huybrechts and former runner-up Raymond van Barneveld takes on World Grand Prix debutant Stuart Kellett, while two other previous finalists meet in the night’s final game, as Adrian Lewis plays Brendan Dolan, the Northern Irish ace who hit the first double-start nine-darter in the event two years ago.

The second round is split across Wednesday October 9 and Thursday October 10, with the top half of the draw in action on Wednesday including a possible repeat of the 2007 final between Wade and Jenkins and a potential rematch of last year’s second round win for Thornton against Taylor.

Thursday’s four second round fixtures could include an all-Dutch clash with van Gerwen against van Barneveld.

The quarter-finals will be held on Friday October 11, with the semi-finals on Saturday October 12 and the final on Sunday October 13, to be preceded by the Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay final between Connie Finnan and Colin McGarry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *