Scotland to meet USA on Betway World Cup of Darts opening night


The schedule of play for the 2018 Betway World Cup of Darts has been confirmed, ahead of the 32-nation event from May 31-June 3 in Frankfurt.


Top seeds Scotland, represented by Peter Wright and Gary Anderson, will headline the opening night on Thursday May 31 for their tie with American duo Larry Butler and Darin Young.


2017 finalists Wales take on Thailand in another big tie on the opening night, while 2012 runners-up Australia face Hong Kong.


Italy and Canada will face off in the opening game of the tournament, with Russia playing Spain, Switzerland up against China, Denmark meeting Brazil and Austria competing with Japan.


The remaining eight first round ties will be played on Friday June 1, headlined by reigning champions Netherlands – represented by Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld – playing Gibraltar’s Dyson Parody and Justin Broton.


Four-time champions England, for whom Rob Cross is partnered by Dave Chisnall, play the Czech Republic and host nation Germany clash with Sweden.


Former finalists Belgium take on the Republic of Ireland, while Northern Ireland play Poland, New Zealand take on Singapore, Greece play Finland and Hungary meet South Africa.


Saturday June 2 sees the second round split across two sessions, with a combination of Singles and Doubles ties from the last 16 onwards.


The final day of action sees the quarter-finals in Sunday’s afternoon session ahead of the semi-finals and final in the evening session.


The Betway World Cup of Darts will be broadcast live on Sky Sports from May 31-June 3. For tickets, visit


2018 Betway World Cup of Darts

Thursday May 31 (8pm local time)

First Round

Italy v Canada

Russia v Spain

Switzerland v China

Denmark v Brazil

Wales v Thailand

Australia v Hong Kong

Scotland v United States of America

Austria v Japan


Friday June 1 (8pm local time)

First Round

New Zealand v Singapore

Greece v Finland

Northern Ireland v Poland

Hungary v South Africa

Belgium v Republic of Ireland

England v Czech Republic

Sweden v Germany

Netherlands v Gibraltar


Saturday June 2

Afternoon Session (2pm local time)

Second Round

Wales/Thailand v Switzerland/China

Australia/Hong Kong v Russia/Spain

Austria/Japan v Italy/Canada

Scotland/USA v Denmark/Brazil


Evening Session (8pm local time)

Second Round

Belgium/Republic of Ireland v Greece/Finland

England/Czech Republic v New Zealand/Singapore

Northern Ireland/Poland v Sweden/Germany

Netherlands/Gibraltar v Hungary/South Africa


Sunday June 3

Afternoon Session (2pm local time)



Evening Session (8pm local time)




Draw Bracket

(1) Scotland v United States of America

Denmark v Brazil

(8) Austria v Japan

Italy v Canada

(5) Wales v Thailand

Switzerland v China

(4) Australia v Hong Kong

Russia v Spain

(2) England v Czech Republic

New Zealand v Singapore

(7) Belgium v Republic of Ireland

Greece v Finland

(6) Northern Ireland v Poland

Sweden v Germany

(3) Netherlands v Gibraltar

Hungary v South Africa


The draw was broadcast on Facebook Live through the OfficialPDC Facebook page.


Competing Nations

Seeded Nations

1 Scotland – Peter Wright & Gary Anderson

2 England – Rob Cross & Dave Chisnall

3 Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld

4 Australia – Simon Whitlock & Kyle Anderson

5 Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton

6 Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan

7 Belgium – Kim Huybrechts & Dimitri Van den Bergh

8 Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Zoran Lerchbacher


Other Nations

Brazil – Diogo Portela & Bruno Rangel

Canada – John Part & Dawson Murschell

China – Momo Zhou & Xiaochen Zong

Czech Republic – Roman Benecky & Karel Sedlacek

Denmark – Per Laursen & Henrik Primdal

Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele

Germany – Max Hopp & Martin Schindler

Gibraltar – Dyson Parody & Justin Broton

Greece – John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis

Hong Kong – Royden Lam & Ho Yin Shek

Hungary – Tamas Alexits & Nandor Bezzeg

Italy – Michel Furlani & Alessio Medaina

Japan – Seigo Asada & Haruki Muramatsu

New Zealand – Cody Harris & Warren Parry

Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Tytus Kanik

Republic of Ireland – Steve Lennon & William O’Connor

Russia – Boris Koltsov & Aleksandr Oreshkin

Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim

South Africa – Devon Petersen & Liam O’Brien

Spain – Cristo Reyes & Toni Alcinas

Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Dennis Nilsson

Switzerland – Alexander Fehlmann & Andreas Bless

Thailand – Thanawat Gaweenuntavong & Attapol Eupakaree

United States of America – Larry Butler & Darin Young


Prize Fund

Winners (Per Player) £30,000

Runner-Up (Per Player) £16,000

Semi-Finalists (Per Player) £10,000

Quarter-Finalists (Per Player) £7,000

Second Round Losers (Per Player) £4,000

First Round Losers (Per Player) £1,500

Total £300,000



First Round

Best of nine legs Doubles


Second Round, Quarter-Finals & Semi-Finals

The Second Round, Quarter-Finals & Semi-Finals will be played as two best of seven leg 501 Singles matches, with both nations nominating the order in which their players play. In the event of both nations winning one Singles match apiece, a best of seven leg 501 Doubles match will be played to decide the tie.



The Final will be played as two best of seven leg 501 Singles matches, with both nations nominating the order in which their players play the first two matches, followed by a best of seven leg 501 Doubles match and then Reverse Singles matches. The first team to win three games is declared the winner.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here