International Darts Open: Searle stuns reigning champion Wright

Ryan Searle dumped out reigning champion Peter Wright with a 6-4 win in round two of the International Darts Open in Riesa.

Searle fought back from 3-1 and 4-2 down to record his first ever victory over number one seed Wright and progress to the last 16 of the £135,000 European Tour event.

A ProTour finalist earlier this month, Searle continued his progression by securing the biggest win of his career to date, with the Somerset thrower now set to face German crowd favourite Martin Schindler on Sunday afternoon. 

“Things are going really well for me at the moment, this is a big win for my career,” said Searle, who is starring in his second European Tour event of the year.

“I took it one leg at a time and I took my chances when I got them, so I’m happy with the victory even though that wasn’t the best Peter Wright I played.

“Getting to the final of a ProTour event gave me massive confidence and now I want to push on even further.”

German ace Schindler opened the day in style with a superb 6-1 win over Kim Huybrechts, boosting his Unibet European Championship hopes while denting the Belgian’s chances of sealing a spot in Dortmund.

Steve West produced an exceptional 111.29 average as he came from a leg down to defeat Mervyn King 6-1 in a brilliant performance, despite the pain of a back problem, to set up a tie with Jonny Clayton.

Austrian Darts Open winner Clayton opened his bid to claim a second European Tour title of the year with a narrow 6-5 defeat of Steve Lennon, landing six 180s in the tie.

Another former European Tour winner Steve Beaton edged past Max Hopp 6-5 and will now take on Simon Whitlock who also won an 11-leg thriller against James Wilson.

Adrian Lewis proved too strong for Terry Jenkins, claiming a 6-0 whitewash, and the two-time World Champion will now meet Stephen Bunting who pulled away from Barry Lynn to claim a 6-3 win over the qualifier.

Number two seed Mensur Suljovic survived a match dart before seeing off Ryan Joyce 6-5 to set up a clash with Danny Noppert, who followed up Friday’s whitewash of Robert Thornton with a 6-2 defeat of fellow-Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena.

Last weekend’s German Darts Championship winner Ian White eased past Jelle Klaasen 6-2 to progress to the final day of action once again where he will take on James Richardson after the qualifier defeated number eight seed Dave Chisnall 6-4.

One of the most consistent performers on the continent, Joe Cullen defeated Ross Smith 6-3 to set up a meeting with tenth seed Darren Webster who overcame some tricky doubling to defeat Mickey Mansell 6-4, out-scoring the left-hander but missing 24 darts at double before finally sealing the win.

Missed doubles from John Henderson were punished by Gerwyn Price who claimed a 6-3 win, and the Welshman will now take on Daryl Gurney who was at his clinical best in his 6-2 defeat of Friday’s top performer Robert Marijanovic.

Sunday will see the last 16 ties played in the afternoon session before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening, with coverage to be streamed from 1pm and 7.15pm local time.

The International Darts Open will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers, and through a series of bookmakers’ websites worldwide.

Saturday September 15

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Martin Schindler 6-1 Kim Huybrechts

Darren Webster 6-4 Mickey Mansell

Steve West 6-1 Mervyn King

Stephen Bunting 6-3 Barry Lynn

Gerwyn Price 6-3 John Henderson

Jonny Clayton 6-5 Steve Lennon

James Richardson 6-4 Dave Chisnall

Danny Noppert 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena


Evening Session

Ian White 6-2 Jelle Klaasen

Simon Whitlock 6-5 James Wilson

Steve Beaton 6-5 Max Hopp

Joe Cullen 6-3 Ross Smith

Adrian Lewis 6-0 Terry Jenkins

Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Ryan Joyce

Ryan Searle 6-4 Peter Wright

Daryl Gurney 6-2 Robert Marijanovic


Sunday September 16

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Third Round

Ian White v James Richardson

Simon Whitlock v Steve Beaton

Joe Cullen v Darren Webster

Mensur Suljovic v Danny Noppert

Jonny Clayton v Steve West

Adrian Lewis v Stephen Bunting

Daryl Gurney v Gerwyn Price

Ryan Searle v Martin Schindler


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)


Ian White/James Richardson v Simon Whitlock/Steve Beaton

Joe Cullen/Darren Webster v Mensur Suljovic/Danny Noppert

Jonny Clayton/Steve West v Adrian Lewis/Stephen Bunting

Daryl Gurney/Gerwyn Price v Ryan Searle/Martin Schindler





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *