Smith, Wade & Barney’s World Series boost


The  field of PDC representatives on the 2018 World Series of Darts has been completed following invitations for Michael Smith, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld.


The World Series of Darts’ global tour will see tournaments held in Germany, Las Vegas, Shanghai, Auckland, Melbourne and Brisbane ahead of the end-of-season Finals in Vienna.


Whilst the field for the German Darts Masters has already been finalised, and includes new German Darts Open champion Max Hopp, two places remained in the other five international events.


Former World Youth Champion Smith, who currently sits in second place on the Unibet Premier League table and has won two ranking titles this year, has been invited to compete in all five events.


He will be joined in the U.S. Darts Masters and Shanghai Darts Masters by James Wade, a two-time World Series of Darts finalist and multiple winner on the big stage.


Five-time World Champion Van Barneveld, meanwhile, will compete in the Auckland Darts Masters, Melbourne Darts Masters and Brisbane Darts Masters as the popular Dutch legend returns to the World Series, where he will also compete in Germany next week.


“This year’s World Series of Darts is shaping up to be a thrilling set of tournaments and this announcement completes the PDC players who will compete in each event,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.


“Michael Smith is enjoying his breakthrough year on the big stage after knocking on the door in recent times, and after having a taste of the World Series in 2017 has now got a great opportunity to light up the global stage.


“James and Raymond are two players who are known globally for their achievements and have vast experience around the world.


“Despite not being selected for the Premier League this year, James’ attitude has been excellent and he has been a leading performer on the circuit.


“Raymond’s profile makes him a massive draw in New Zealand and Australia, where he has previously reached World Series finals, and as the sport’s elder statesman in playing terms will be a big drawcard for fans Down Under.”


The world’s top four players – Michael van Gerwen, Peter Wright, Rob Cross and Gary Anderson – will compete in all World Series of Darts events this year.


Daryl Gurney and Gerwyn Price will compete in Las Vegas and Shanghai, with each respective event featuring a series of eight regional qualifiers.


Australians Simon Whitlock, Kyle Anderson and Corey Cadby will compete in Auckland, Melbourne and Brisbane, with seven Oceanic Representatives also set to qualify for the treble-header.


The German Darts Masters will take place on Friday May 25 at the Veltins Arena in Gelsenkirchen. For tickets, visit


The U.S. Darts Masters will be held on July 6-7 at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino, Las Vegas, and will be preceded on July 5 by the North American Championship. For tickets, visit


The Shanghai Darts Masters will take place on July 13-14 at the Pullman Hotel, Shanghai South.


The Auckland Darts Masters will be held from August 3-5 at the Trusts Arena. For tickets, visit


The Melbourne Darts Masters will be held from August 10-12 at the Hisense Arena. For tickets, visit


The Brisbane Darts Masters will be held from August 17-19 at the BCEC. For tickets, visit


The World Series of Darts Finals will take place from November 2-4 at the Multiversum in Schwechat, Vienna, Austria. For tickets, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *