Wade & Hamilton amongst UK qualifiers in European Tour double-header

James Wade, Andy Hamilton, Kevin Painter, Stephen Bunting, Andrew Gilding, Ricky Evans, James Hubbard and Shaun Narain enjoyed double success as they qualified for the final two PDC European Tour events in yesterday’s UK Qualifier double-header.

Seven-time major winner Wade ended a three-year gap between tournament victories when he won last weekend’s Gibraltar Darts Trophy event, defeating Steve Beaton in the final.

He secured his spot in the year’s final two European Tour events, to be held in September in Germany, as he came through the UK Qualifiers for both events in Coventry on Friday night.

Wade saw off Darren Johnson and Connie Finnan to win his place in the European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen from September 5-7, before enjoying wins over Lee Moffat and Daryl Gurney to earn a place in the European Darts Trophy in Leipzig from September 19-21.

World number eight Hamilton also enjoyed double success, defeating Ian Moss and Paul Amos in the Event Seven Qualifier before seeing off Nick Fullwell and Jim Walker to seal his spot in Event Eight.

Former Players Championship Finals winner Painter overcame Arron Monk and Steve West in the Event Seven Qualifier, and then saw off Frankie Ansell and Glenn Spearing to secure his Leipzig spot.

Reigning Lakeside Champion Bunting defeated Paul Palmer and Mick Todd to secure a place in Sindelfingen, before enjoying wins over Johnny Haines and Paul Rowley to ensure he will also compete in Leipzig.

Emerging Andrew Gilding’s fine year continued as he won through to two more European Tour events, dropping only three legs against Lee Moffat and Wayne Atwood in the Event Seven Qualifier before defeating Matthew Dicken and Michael Barnard in the Event Eight Qualifier.

Former World Youth Champion James Hubbard also enjoyed double joy on the night in Coventry, seeing off Wes Newton and Barnard to earn a place in Sindelfingen and then defeating Paul Redfern, Matt Clark and Darren Webster for a place in Leipzig.

2013 World Youth Championship finalist Ricky Evans was another player to earn places in the year’s final two European Tour events, overcoming Nigel Heydon and Matt Padgett in Event Seven and seeing off John Henderson and Aden Kirk to seal his spot in Event Eight.

Emerging Canadian ace Shaun Narain won through to compete in his first two European Tour events as he progressed in both qualifiers in Coventry, seeing off Mark Webster and Stuart White to win his place in Event Seven before defeating fellow youngsters Kurt Parry, Ryan Harrington and Jamie Lewis in the Event Eight Qualifier.

Australian star Kyle Anderson edged out Dean Winstanley 6-5 in their decider as he won through to make his European Tour debut in Sindelfingen, having also defeated Josh Payne and Peter Hudson earlier in the event.

Swindon duo Chris Aubrey and Johnny Haines both won through to compete in Sindelfingen, while Coventry pair Steve Hine and Kevin Dowling, Wolverhampton’s Wayne Jones, Scottish ace John Henderson and Norfolk’s Darren Webster also sealed Event Seven spots.

They were joined in qualifying for the Sindelfingen event by Jason Lovett – who made his European Tour debut in Gibraltar last month – Kevin McDine, Joe Cullen and Matt Clark – who saw Steve Brown come from 5-1 down to level in their deciding game before he edged through.

Newton – a European Tour winner in 2013 – bounced back from his disappointment in the Event Seven Qualifier to see off Andy Jenkins and Gary Stone with a pair of 6-1 victories to secure a place in Leipzig.

Terry Jenkins and Michael Smith – who were automatic qualifiers for Event Seven through the PDC ProTour Order of Merit – both secured their places in Event Eight in Leipzig as they won through that qualifier later on Friday.

Ronnie Baxter overcame Steve Brown and Steve Douglas to win through, while Winstanely saw off the Scottish duo of Mark Barilli and Jamie Bain as he progressed to play in Leipzig.

Andy Smith edged out both Colin Lloyd and Matthew Dennant in a deciding leg as he qualified, while Richie Burnett also went the full 11-leg distance as he secured his Leipzig place by defeating Peter Hudson.

Welshman Gerwyn Price will compete in his second European Tour event after he defeated Stuart White and Paul Nicholson to earn a place in Leipzig, with Steve West, William O’Connor and Ross Smith – who hit a nine-darter in last year’s Gibraltar Darts Trophy – completing the list of qualifiers.

European Tour Event Seven will be the European Darts Grand Prix, to be held from September 5-7 at the Glaspalast in Sindelfingen.

European Tour Event Eight will be the European Darts Trophy, which will take place from September 19-21 at the Kohlrabizirkus in Leipzig.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *