Can Luton Beat The Curse?


The last seven permanent Middlesbrough managers have all lost their first league match in charge – Steve McClaren (2001), Gareth Southgate (2006), Gordon Strachan (2009), Tony Mowbray (2010), Aitor Karanka (2013), Garry Monk (2017) and Tony Pulis (2017).

Luton and Middlesbrough haven’t faced in a league match since April 1995, a 2-1 win for Middlesbrough in the final ever match at Ayresome Park.

Luton Town last started a league season at Kenilworth Road in 2017-18, when they hammered Yeovil Town 8-2 – becoming the first team to score eight goals in an opening day Football League match since Wolves in August 1962.

Luton Town are competing in the Championship for the first time since 2006-07 – they lost their last seven home games of that season but are currently unbeaten in 27 home league matches (W20 D7 L0) since losing 1-2 to Accrington Stanley in March 2018.

The draw @11/5 appeals, and that’s the Daily Sport’s Big Match Bet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here